Special issue on International Conference on Water and Energy (ICWE21) Hassiba Benbouali University of Chlef, Algeria on 25–27 May 2021

Foreword

This Special Issue of Desalination and Water Treatment contains manuscripts presented at the International Conference on Water and Energy (ICWE21) that was held at Hassiba Benbouali University of Chlef, in Algeria on 25–27 May 2021 (Virtual conference). The Conference provided a platform for researchers, engineers, and academicians to present and discuss their research results on membrane technology for water and wastewater treatment. A total of 75 papers were presented, and after a rigorous review process, 27 manuscripts were accepted for publication in this Special Issue.

The topics of the conference included: membrane technology for environmental applications, biomembranes and biotechnology, membrane technology for gas and vapor separation, advanced materials for membrane fabrication, membranes in energy conversion, electro-membrane processes, advanced fabrication techniques, membrane fouling, membrane in bio-medical field, new trends in renewable energy, environmental impact of water treatment and desalination, organic solvent nano-filtration, modeling in membranes and water and waste water technology.

There were several excellent plenary talks, given by Dr. Alberto Figoli (ITM-CNR Director), Prof. Miriam Balaban (*Desalination and Water Treatment* Editor-in-Chief), Dr. Konstantinos Plakas (CERTH, Greece), Prof. Sami Sayadi (Qatar University, Qatar), Prof. Ahmed Kettab (ENP, Algeria) and Dr. Guillermo Zaragoza (PSA-CIEMAT, Spain).

Sincere thanks go to the ICWE21 International Scientific Committee for their strong support as well as the Conference Organizing Committee for their tireless efforts and dedication.

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we would also like to recognize and acknowledge that this conference was a part of the IDEA project (ERANETMED), with the financial support of the Directorate General for Scientific Research and Technological Development (DGRSDT) in Algeria, Greek General Secretariat of Research and Innovation (GSRI) under contract number T8EPA2-00017, Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) in France, The Deanship of Scientific Research at The University of Jordan, Italian Ministry of Education University and Research, The Science and Technology Development Fund (STDF) in Egypt.

Finally, the Guest Editors would like to offer special thanks to Prof. Miriam Balaban, Editor-in-Chief of *Desalination and Water Treatment* journal for allowing us to publish the conference papers in this special issue.

Guest editors

Dr. Rund Abu-Zurayk The University of Jordan, Amman 11942, Jordan

Prof. Mihail Dumitru Barboiu

Institut Européen des Membranes, IEM, UMR 5635, Univ Montpellier, ENSCM, CNRS, Montpellier, France

Dr. Enrica Fontananova

Institute on Membrane Technology of the National Research Council (ITM-CNR), Via P. Bucci, 17/C, at University of Calabria, 87036 Rende (CS), Italy

Prof. Mattheus F.A. Goosen

Office of Research & Graduate Studies, Alfaisal University, Saudi Arabia

Dr. Anastasios Gotzias

Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, National Center for Scientific Research "Demokritos" Terma Patriarxou Grigoriou kai Neapoleos, Agia Paraskevi Attikis, 153 41, Athens, Greece

Dr. Evangelos Kouvelos

Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, National Center for Scientific Research "Demokritos". Terma Patriarxou Grigoriou kai Neapoleos, Agia Paraskevi Attikis, 153 41, Athens, Greece

Prof. Hacene Mahmoudi

University Hassiba Benbouali, BP 151, Chlef Algeria

Dr. Stéphanie Roualdès

Institut Européen des Membranes, IEM, UMR 5635, Univ Montpellier, ENSCM, CNRS, Montpellier, France

Organizing committee

-in a committee

Mr. Abdellah Noui, President	(Algeria)	Dr. Abdelhak Mahmoudi	(Algeria)
		Prof. Hacene Mahmoudi	(Algeria)
Members		Dr. Abdelaziz Merouane	(Algeria)
Dr. Rund Abu-Zurayk	(Jordan)	Dr. Djamel Eddine Moudjeber	(Algeria)
Prof. Miriam Balaban	(Italy)	Dr. Andreas Sapalidis	(Greece)
Dr. Mihail Barboiu	(France)	Prof. Nawel Spahis	(Algeria)
Dr. Mohamed Cheurfa	(Algeria)	Prof. Shadia Tewfik	(Egypt)
Dr. Enrica Fontananova	(Italy)		

Scientific committee

Hacene Mahmoudi, Chairman	(Algeria)	Khaled Elmiloudi	(Algeria)
Djamel Eddine Moudjeber, Chairman	(Algeria)	Evangelos Favvas	(Greece)
	-	Alberto Figoli	(Italy)
Members		Enrica Fontananova	(Italy)
Mohamed Abbas	(Algeria)	Norredine Ghaffour	(Saudi Arabia)
Rund Abu-Zurayk	(Jordan)	Lidietta Giorno	(Italy)
Abeer Al-Bawwab	(Jordan)	Mattheus Goosen	(Saudi Arabia)
Leonard Atanase	(Romania)	Anastasios Gotzias	(Greece)
Chrysa Athanasekou	(Greece)	Mohammed Hadj Meliani	(Algeria)
Mihai Barboiu	(France)	Jalal Halwani	(Lebanon)
Wassila Benhabiles	(Algeria)	Jan Hoinkis	(Germany)
Thameur Chaibi	(Tunisia)	Nikolaos Kanellopoulos	(Greece)
Alessandra Criscuoli	(Italy)	Anastasios Karabelas	(Greece)
Elif Demirel	(Turkey)	Ahmed Kettab	(Algeria)
Gianluca Di Profio	(Italy)	Vangelis Kouvelos	(Greece)
Mhamed Djennad	(Algeria)	Benali Mouffok	(Algeria)
Enrico Drioli	(Italy)	Abdellah Ouagued	(Algeria)
Mervat El Hoz	(Lebanon)	Konstantinos Plakas	(Greece)
Jauad El Kharraz	(Oman)	Marcel Popa	(Romania)

Prof. Shadia Ragheb Tewfik

National Research Centre, Institute of Engineering Research and New and Renewable Energy, Chemical Engineering and Pilot Plant Department, El-Buhouth St., Dokki, Giza, Egypt

Dr. Andreas Sapalidis

Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, National Center for Scientific Research "Demokritos" Terma Patriarxou Grigoriou kai Neapoleos, Agia Paraskevi Attikis, 153 41, Athens, Greece

Prof. Nawel Spahis

University Hassiba Benbouali, BP 151, Chlef Algeria

Dr. Elena Tocci

Institute on Membrane Technology of the National Research Council (ITM-CNR), Via P. Bucci, 17/C, at University of Calabria, 87036 Rende (CS), Italy

Amina Richa Stephanie Roualdes Andreas Sapalidis Sami Sayadi Naoual Semlali Nawel Spahis Safia Taleb	(Algeria) (France) (Greece) (Qatar) (Morocco) (Algeria) (Algeria)	Shadia Tewfik Elena Tocci Ümran Tezcan Ün Sami Touil Max Trommsdorff Fraunhofer Eftihia Tzen Guillermo Zaragoza	(Egypt) (Italy) (Turkey) (Algeria) (Germany) (Greece) (Spain)
Safia Taleb Djilali Tassalit	(Algeria) (Algeria)	Guillermo Zaragoza	(Spain)
-	, U		